Bookses...

The original knights of the skies

Moderators: Board of Directors, Command

Broadsword

Bookses...

Post by Broadsword » Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:49 pm

Since I'm now flying over the trenches of WW1, I've decided I could do with brushing up my Great War aviation knowledge. Does anyone have recommendations for any good reads in this area? I'm after real history rather than novels, since I want to get up to speed.

I've started with 'A Brief History of the Royal Flying Corps in World War One' by Ralph Barker, which so far seems to be pretty decent, but are there any real classics that I shouldn't miss? I'd also like to get some kind of aircraft guide to the era, since I'm still learning to remember the difference between all these bloody biplanes :D

Fire away chaps... :lecture:
I must go up to the skies again, to the peace of silent flight, To the gull’s way, and the hawk’s way, and the free wings’ delight;
And all I ask is a friendly joke with a laughing fellow rover, And a large beer, and a deep sleep, when the long flight’s over.

Ginger
Wing Commander
Wing Commander
ACG Board
contributor
Location: The centre of the known universe Nottingham, England

Re: Bookses...

Post by Ginger » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:02 pm

This is a good read Broady. Sagittarius Rising
DEAD PILOTS DONT MAKE CLAIMS

Broadsword

Post by Broadsword » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:09 pm

Cheers Ginger :nice: It is indeed very good, and I'll re-read it one day, but I'm looking for more of a historical overview than a close-up memoir, if you see what I mean. Sort of 'what happened?' rather than 'what was it like?' :D
I must go up to the skies again, to the peace of silent flight, To the gull’s way, and the hawk’s way, and the free wings’ delight;
And all I ask is a friendly joke with a laughing fellow rover, And a large beer, and a deep sleep, when the long flight’s over.

Ginger
Wing Commander
Wing Commander
ACG Board
contributor
Location: The centre of the known universe Nottingham, England