BoS VR

Action on the Eastern Front

Moderator: Shadepiece

User avatar
Donkey
Pilot Officer
Pilot Officer
Contributor
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:21 am
Location: Bomber *Command* County :D - Buckinghamshire, England

BoS VR

Postby Donkey » Fri Apr 14, 2017 12:57 pm

Holy balls it's amazing!

User avatar
Darky
Sergeant
Sergeant
Contributor
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:46 am
Location: Chelmsford Essex UK
Contact:

Re: BoS VR

Postby Darky » Fri Apr 14, 2017 1:26 pm

is it easy to locate your controls???
The first RAF unit to be equipped with the Hawker Hurricane was No. 111 Squadron, which received its new fighters late in 1937.

User avatar
Donkey
Pilot Officer
Pilot Officer
Contributor
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:21 am
Location: Bomber *Command* County :D - Buckinghamshire, England

Re: BoS VR

Postby Donkey » Fri Apr 14, 2017 1:50 pm

Well you have to go through the usual ball-ache of mapping everything to your hotas, but once that is done it's fine. Resolution is a little on the low side in the hmd, but you do really feel like you're flying over Russia. Seems less demanding that DCS, I'm getting less frame stutter.

User avatar
Wozaworld
Pilot Officer
Pilot Officer
Contributor
Posts: 491
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 2:59 am

Re: BoS VR

Postby Wozaworld » Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:47 pm

I think I'm going to have to bite the £499 bullet...
Image
"Always treat your kite like you treat your woman, climb inside her five times a day and take her to heaven and back.."


i7 4790k o/c 4.7ghz Water cooled, 32gb veng pro 2400mhz ram, GTX1080ti 11gb , 250gb SSD, Thrustmaster warthog stick, X-55 H.O.T.A.S, Combat Rudder pedals, TrackIR5, GHD Hair straightners, Quite a nice kettle. Oh! and one of those Oculus majiggy thingys

Sprite
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:37 pm

Re: BoS VR

Postby Sprite » Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:27 pm

BoS cant handle ACG numbers

User avatar
Donkey
Pilot Officer
Pilot Officer
Contributor
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:21 am
Location: Bomber *Command* County :D - Buckinghamshire, England

Re: BoS VR

Postby Donkey » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:06 pm

Sprite wrote:BoS cant handle ACG numbers



... I know. Everyone knows. What has that got to do with it now being in VR and looking amaziing?

User avatar
LuftAsher
Hauptmann
Hauptmann
ACG Staff
Posts: 1993
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 2:51 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: BoS VR

Postby LuftAsher » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:17 pm

Donkey wrote:
Sprite wrote:BoS cant handle ACG numbers



... I know. Everyone knows. What has that got to do with it now being in VR and looking amaziing?


Not going to try and derail the thread here, but Sprite's not bringing it up because he thinks it's pertinent to the discussion of BoS' VR support.
Image
4./JG26_Kildren: im 25% helpful
4./JG26_LuftAsher: Yeah that sounds about right

User avatar
Darky
Sergeant
Sergeant
Contributor
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:46 am
Location: Chelmsford Essex UK
Contact:

Re: BoS VR

Postby Darky » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:42 pm

I can feel another system upgrade coming on as my cpu is not big enough all the rest of it will work fine i checked
https://ocul.us/compat-tool
plus a usb card as all my ports are plugged.
But when i did the Steam test it says i can run it http://store.steampowered.com/app/323910/
confusing but i want one now
The first RAF unit to be equipped with the Hawker Hurricane was No. 111 Squadron, which received its new fighters late in 1937.

Sprite
Posts: 352
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 9:37 pm

Re: BoS VR

Postby Sprite » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:43 pm

:nice:

User avatar
Donkey
Pilot Officer
Pilot Officer
Contributor
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 9:21 am
Location: Bomber *Command* County :D - Buckinghamshire, England

Re: BoS VR

Postby Donkey » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:25 pm

What CPU are you running Darky? My CPU fails the Vive test, becasue it's an Intel 3 series so it's old. It is, however, a 3930K hexacore beast which I've not had to upgrade in ages because it's plenty fucking powerful. According to CPUBenchmark.net there are only 16 processors in the world that score higher (if you ingnore Xeons). And if you ignore the silly money Intel extremes, there's only 12 faster - of which only 7 are more than 10% faster. So my point being the way the test works (bluntly) is to say "is the CPU less than 2(?) years old and is it on my list? If so pass, if not fail." But if you look your CPU up on CPUBenchmark.net and get an idea of how fast it is relative to mine (which works fine in VR) that may give you a better idea.

D


Return to “IL2 Battle of Stalingrad”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests