No TakeOff Dust Mod (note- incompatible with TF patch)

Moderator: Board of Directors

Post Reply
Bounder
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:03 pm
Location: Notts UK

No TakeOff Dust Mod (note- incompatible with TF patch)

Post by Bounder » Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:31 pm

No TakeOff Dust Mod (reduces the amount of dust on take off/landings to improve FPS on machines struggling with this effect)

Mod by TheVino3 (link to original thread on 1c forums: http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=36580)

This mod greatly reduces the amount of dust particles generated when players taxi, take off and land in CLoD, resulting in better FPS on PCs that suffer from stuttering/poor FPS when viewing dust. I have not personally installed this mod but I have heard that it does help those suffering from poor performance on take off.

Installation instructions:

1) Install Kegetys SFSMod

Download and install Kegetys SFSMod (you don’t need to use it, just needs to be installed). See read me included for install instructions; NOTE: you will have to modify your CLoD Launcher.exe.config file to install the Keygetys SFSMod, so make a back-up copy of this file just in case you make a mistake (e.g. copy and paste the Launcher.exe.config file to another location on your harddrive so you can paste it back if something goes wrong!)

http://junk.kegetys.fi/il2cod_sfsmod11.zip

Note: this is the same programme used for the HD Cloud Mod, so if you have already installed it for that (or something else) you should not need to reinstall it, so skip to the next step - download no dust takeoff mod.

2) Download No TakeOff Dust Mod:

http://www.gamefront.com/files/22765749 ... g_Dust_rar
or
http://www.maxsurl.com/link.php?ref=OCAO8DF92f

3) Install Instructions for Mod

To install the 'No TakeOff Dust Mod', copy and paste the ‘NoTLDust folder’ folder into your CLoD directory folder containing the CLoD exe file (e.g. C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\IL-2 Sturmovik Cliffs of Dover)

Next, you need to tell CLoD to launch the mod when you run the game - this can be achieved by two methods: either via Steam or via Desktop Shortcut (note: you will then have to launch the game via Steam or the Desktop Shortcut depending on which method you choose (or you can do both methods):

4a) Steam Launcher method:
Go to Steam -> Games -> View Games Library -> right click on IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover -> Properties -> under General tab, Set Launch Options -> type the following (copy paste this line): -Add -mod=NoTLDust
Note: you must run CLoD from Steam if using this method

Image

To run multiple mods via the Steam Launcher method you would input: -Add -mod=ImprovedClouds -mod=NoTLDust. That is two "-mod=" - each with its own entry (thanks Gromic!) Note, it needs to have the line "-Add" to work.

4b) Alternative method for launching CLoD via desktop shortcut:
Make sure you have a CLoD shortcut on your desktop (go to your CLoD folder and create desktop shortcut of the .exe file) Right click on CLoD desktop shortcut -> properties -> target. At the end of the target line, after the inverted comma, put a space and type -Add -mod=NoTLDust (see example below):

Image

Make sure to run CLoD from your desktop shortcut if using this method. If you wish to install multiple mods via this method, desktop shortcut, first install one mod e.g. Improved Clouds. Now you can place the files of any other mods e.g. No Dust Mod, in the $core folder of the first mod i.e. \steamapps\common\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover\ImprovedClouds\$core. Note: you only need to add the target line for the first mod as this modifies the launcher to add all mods located in that file when loading the game from the desktop shortcut.

5) Done. Run Cliffs of Dover from Steam if using step (4a) or from desktop shortcut if using step (4b)
Image
My PC specs: Win10 64 Pro, CPU i7-3820 4.4GHz, 16GB RAM, GPU Nvidia 1070 (8gb vram).
Controls: Microsoft FFB2, Thrustmaster Warthog Throttle, MFG Crosswind Pedals, TrackIR5, & a bottle of Scotch.

Meaker
Posts: 1513
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: No TakeOff Dust Mod

Post by Meaker » Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:19 pm

Thanks for the link to this mod Bounder,question,I too,use the improved cloud mod,this being the case my Steam launch option line at present reads (-mod=ImprovedClouds),if then,using this mod,should it now read (-mod=ImprovedCloudsNo TLDust)?.....ie do I just add this line to the exsisting line,or should there be a break between the two mod lines.

Cheers Buddy
Meaks

User avatar
Gromic
Pilot Officer
Pilot Officer
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:24 pm

Re: No TakeOff Dust Mod

Post by Gromic » Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:45 pm

I'm not sure but I think I read a similar question before and the answer was....

-mod=ImprovedCloudsNo -mod=TLDust

Two "-mod=" - each with its own entry.

Good luck.
Image
64 Squadron / IAP27 Eskadrilya 1

Ryzen 2700x / GSkill 3400 16GB / AMD 6900XT REF / Samsung 970 NVMe + 860 SSD / EVGA 750W PSU / Liqfusion 240 AIO / Saitek Pro pedals / Sidewinder FFB2 / TM TWCS Hotas / Fractal Design Meshify C White

Meaker
Posts: 1513
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: No TakeOff Dust Mod

Post by Meaker » Sun Jan 13, 2013 11:01 pm

Ahhh.....thanks Gromic,life saver,appreciate your help old man ;)

Bounder
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:03 pm
Location: Notts UK

Re: No TakeOff Dust Mod

Post by Bounder » Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:59 am

updated post to correct instructions for Steam Launcher (code was missing the -Add part), also included alternative method for launching game via desktop shortcut. Both methods may be followed so that mod(s) work when launching CLoD from both Steam or desktop shortcut.
Image
My PC specs: Win10 64 Pro, CPU i7-3820 4.4GHz, 16GB RAM, GPU Nvidia 1070 (8gb vram).
Controls: Microsoft FFB2, Thrustmaster Warthog Throttle, MFG Crosswind Pedals, TrackIR5, & a bottle of Scotch.

Meaker
Posts: 1513
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: No TakeOff Dust Mod

Post by Meaker » Sun Jan 20, 2013 5:00 pm

Excellent stuff Bounder,try the Better backgrounds mod too,it gives you control over the back ground pics.As long as your pics are Bitmap you can load up what you fancy,screenshots et all.

Post Reply